Snowy Valleys Council Recovery Committee


Council has established a Snowy Valleys Council Recovery Committee to compile the needs of our community for either action locally or escalation to higher levels of government for assistance.

Membership of the Committee includes community leaders, business owners and elected officials who are specialists or actively involved in areas seen as key to the region’s recovery.

To ensure tasks and ideas can be identified and actioned as quickly as possible, the SVC Recovery Committee is supported by SVC Recovery Sub-Committees whose key areas of focus are health, well-being & education; forest industries; agriculture, livestock & horticulture; business & tourism; infrastructure, waste & environment; donations & disaster relief; Council business as usual; communications & community engagement; and a Community Advisory Group.

Intent of the SVC Recovery Committee

To work to provide timely support and tools to affected communities to quickly return to an adequate level of function after the 2020 bushfire event.

  • community focused
  • inclusive and collaborative
  • integrated and coordinated
  • timely, tailored and adapted to the changing community needs
  • empowering and supporting community self determination
  • sharing responsibility between all sectors of the community
  • empathetic
  • positively future focused


  • assess damage and needs
  • reconstruct and restore physical infrastructure
  • ensure support for emotion, social, economic and physical wellbeing
  • adapt to a changed natural environment
  • build community resilience and capability
  • betterment of infrastructure and support systems and adaptation to modified environmental conditions


  • Clr James Hayes, SVC Mayor 
  • Clr John Larter, SVC Deputy Mayor
  • Matthew Hyde, SVC Chief Executive Officer
  • SVC Recovery Coordinator
  • Denise Garner - Murrumbidgee Health
  • Barney Hyams - Riverina Local Land Services
  • Ken Dale - Tumbarumba Chamber of Commerce
  • Natalie Randall - Tumut Chamber of Commerce
  • Matt Lucas - Thrive Riverina
  • Roy Humphries, Valmar
  • John Stanfield, Valmar
  • David Eisenhauer, Sounds of the Mountains
  • Peter Crowe, Softwoods Working Group
  • Phil Clements, Softwoods Working Group
  • Rab Green, AKD
  • Kevin Anderson, Visy
  • Katie Fowden, Hyne
  • Nico Mulder, Costa Berries
  • Angeline Mulder, Costa Berries
  • Richard Cottam, Mount Tumbarumba Vineyard
  • Pernell Hartley, Batlow Fruit Company
  • Guy Boardman, Snowy Hydro


  • Heidi Stratford, Department Premier and Cabinet
  • Dick Adams, Recovery Coordinator Southern NSW
  • Justin Clancy MP, State Member for Albury
  • Joe McGirr MP, State Member for Wagga
  • Steph Cooke MP, Member for Cootamundra
  • Mike Kelly MP, Federal Member for Eden-Monaro
  • Paul Lloyd, Regional Emergency Management Officer (REMO)
  • Bob Noble, NSW Police
  • Stan Wall, NSW Police
  • Brad Palmer, Australian Defence Force 
  • Steve Pinnuck, GM, Greater Hume Shire Council


 Meetings and Minutes

Minutes 29JULY2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee(PDF, 134KB)

Minutes 11JUNE2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee(PDF, 216KB)

Minutes 22MAY2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee(PDF, 182KB)

Minutes 6MAY2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee(PDF, 182KB)

Minutes-08APR2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee(PDF, 173KB)

Minutes-11MAR2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee.pdf(PDF, 52KB)

Minutes-26FEB2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee.pdf(PDF, 354KB)

Minutes-12FEB2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee.pdf(PDF, 67KB)

Minutes-29JAN2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee.pdf(PDF, 157KB)

Minutes-16JAN2020-SVC-Recovery-Committee.pdf(PDF, 279KB)

Recovery Committees Prioritised Action Plans